The Verdict: HIX Soho

After a stonker of a week there was no better way to round it off and indulge in a long lunch with some great company. Our venue of choice was Hix Soho and if delicious food, potent cocktails and wacky decor are your thing you must give it a visit!

IMG_20140314_185618

For starters I had grilled Scallops with the most amazing chorizo, spinach and a mildly chilly sauce – it was incredible and was over far quicker than I would have liked.

IMG_20140314_185857

For mains I avoided the steak options and opted for the Somerset goat pie in search of a change. I was told it was like shepherds pie (but with goat) so was expecting something far less exhuisitie to the point I was going to change my order. I am so glad I didn’t! Inside the most delicate pasty casing was the richest and meltable goat I have ever had, topped with the softest mash potato mixed with spinach. This was lightly toasted so you had the pleasure of having to break your way through (much like a crème brûlée). To make this even more mouth watering it was sitting in the thickest gravy which again was just incredible. It appears that Hix regularly change their menu, which is typical for a lot of restaurants who pride themselves on using seasonal ingredients, unfortunately that means that I can no longer find either course on their current menu – but keep your eyes peeled and I’m sure it will make another appearance.

IMG_20140314_190134To finish off the Hix experience it was only right that we ordered some Espresso Martini’s (or rather the bold Ally, who ordered us 5!). They don’t actually have these on the menu, but will whip one right up on request. And believe me you’ll want to request these! The creamiest, chilled espresso you will ever taste with just the sweetest hint of something devillish within. It really is my go to drink – what cocktails are your go to’s?

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

