A very curious incident…

On Monday night I was lucky enough to head on over to Shaftsbury avenue and be awe stricken by the cast and production of ” The curious incident of the dog in the night-time” at the Gielgud Theatre.

Now if you aren’t familiar with either the book or the play, I cannot recommend enough!

image

Source: http://www.hollywoodreporter.com

I read the book donkeys ago and immediately loved it. It’s a quirky and beautiful tale by Mark Haddon, about a boy born with autism and how he sees the world and ultimately investigates the curious incident that was the dog in the night time.

I’m not sure about you, but I always get a little wary when books get turned into films and plays and whilst I was assured that the play was incredible, I was worried it wouldn’t live up to the magic I read when I was a teen.

Boy I had nothing to worry about.

In actual fact it brought back and amplified what makes the book so great; how you begin to understand and empathise with an autistic mind and how envious you are of the wonderous ways they see the world, and at the same time sympathise with how difficult some social interactions can be…

Usually people look at you when they’re talking to you. I know that they’re working out what I’m thinking, but I can’t tell what they’re thinking. It is like being in a room with a one-way mirror in a spy film.

Alongside the storytelling, the production really was incredible. The whole stage (including the back wall) was a giant chalk board which lit up in the most sensory stimulating way which was both mesmerising, and utterly terrifying when used to portray his fits.

image

Source:  http://www.birminghamhippodrome.com

For me, the play had it all; laughter, tears, pin dropping silence, real life puppies, math problems, incredible set and a cracking all cast performance. They even had a chance for members of the audience to win prizes if, when letters in the alphabet were numbered, your name added up to a prime number. Unsurprisingly I was all over this but sadly no matter how many nicknames or middle names I used I was not a prime number…so no prize for me!

image

Source: http://www.notquiteenough.co.uk

For fear of spilling spoilers I’ll stop now, but honestly it was really an amazing show.

I’m not sure how long it will be in the west end, but if you are around London this summer, I implore you to go! And just a little tip if you do go… Try and go dress circle/balcony because you’d miss a lot of the stage magic if you couldn’t see the floor.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

